Barbara Randell 2D Cover.png

The Redgens of Redford

Australia in the 1950s. I grew up on a farm, surrounded with cows pigs, and chickens. Native animals like kangaroos, emus, and lots of other native birds shared the farm. We battled the challenges of country life—droughts, fire, and flood—in the absence of modern aids like electricity, automatic telephones, and reliable health care. I attended a one-room school for 9 years.
As well as describing life on the farm, I share many memories of life in the 1950s… schooling; playground games; afternoon chores; clothes for both children and adults; pets; shops and shopping; radios; telephones; transport; holidays; grandparents and lots more. 

mary Bennett cover.jpg

Mary Bennett of Meryton

Mary Bennett is alone with her parents. Three sisters are married, another living away. Now is her chance to emerge from their shadows. Becoming more confident, she makes good friends, and meets a number of eligible young men. But her mother’s continual complaints make her days painful. Will the stain of her sister Lydia's scandalous elopement ever fade? Will she ever find someone who loves Mary for herself?.  


A Cottage In Germantown


Kathy has inherited an old decaying cottage, in a small town settled by German pioneers nearly 200 years ago. But when circumstances force her to move in, she is met with a mixture of friendship, animosity, resistance, and real danger. Can she solve the mystery surrounding the cottage and her own family links to the town? Can she move past her own personal tragedies to a new happier future?

If you like real Australian romance stories, this is for you.  

Kanga book cover final for amazon.jpg

Kanga Reuben is an overweight, aging, rum-swilling author of lurid murder mysteries. As he travels around Australia, he just wants to be left alone, to get on with his writing. But everywhere he goes, he runs into dead bodies resulting from unnatural deaths.

Travel with him from the southern shores of Australia, north to Queensland. Can you solve the mysteries before he does?

Darcy's Pride final version.jpg

When Beth Phillips first meets her new boss, Darcy Williams, she decides he is arrogant thoughtless and selfish. He decides she is uneducated country girl. As they get to know each other somewhat better, over the months, neither finds a reason to change those first impressions. Then, with a few ill-chosen words, Darcy destroys Beth’s career and her self-confidence.

When he discovers his mistake, he tries to repair the damage. But will Beth ever forgive him? Will he ever repair the damage he has done? Will he ever get the chance to show her his change of heart?

A Modern Retelling of Sense and Sensibility.jpg

When her father dies unexpectedly, the eldest daughter Ellen Dashwood, is left to keep the family together. In this she is assisted by Colin Brandon, a new acquaintance. Colin often disapproves of her actions, and is angry with her. Despite that, they become friends.
After an episode when Colin becomes very upset with Ellen, he disappears.
Meanwhile, Ellen tries to increase their income, without much success. But when John Willoughby threatens their future, she is determined to defy his evil designs.
Will Ellen solve the family financial problems? Will she defeat John Willoughby? Will she ever find happiness with Colin Brandon?

Be the first to be informed on news from Barbara!

Thanks for subscribing!